Fairway Outreach

"Putting Youngsters On The Right Course"

History of The City Tournament
 Since 1936, The City Tournament has provided competition and fellowship opportunities for Columbia's golfing community.

 The tournament has many champions with multiple wins. Steve Liebler has been the tournament's greatest champion by far with ten wins in the last fifteen years. Last year was Steve's toughest battle as he had to go two holes in sudden death to beat Jarrett Grimes.

 Gus Sylvan and the late Harold Hall are four-time champions. Emory Harper, Bobby Foster, and Ronnie Smoak won three times while Four-time PGA winner Dustin Johnson had two wins. Our 1971 champion, Joe Inman also won The 1976 Kemper Open.

 Several of our champions have also won the South Carolina Amateur, including Emory Harper, Harold Hall, John Plyer, Ronnie Smoak, Jimmy Hawkins, Larry Boswell, Gus Sylvan III, and David DuPre, who won State Am four times. Three of our champions-Leroy Rabon, Bob Stringer, and Jimmy Hawkins have also won the senior division.

 In the professional division, Clem King is a five-time champion, while George Bryan III, Joey Graham and Burke Cromer are three-time winners.

 In the senior professional division, Robin All is a six-time champion, while the late John Summers, Russell Glover, Norman Flynn, Tom Graber, and Bobby Howard are three-time champions.

 Twenty-two years ago, The City Tournament took on a larger purpose as Fairway Outreach was founded and initially funded through profits from the tournament. The City Tournament has   contributed over $210,000 to the   program and hundreds of youngsters have participated in a year-round golf program including participating in The Fellowship of Christian Athletes Golf Camps.

 The Sonic Women's City Tournament has supported Fairway Outreach for the last several years. We salute their board and players for choosing Fairway Outreach as their tournament's charity.

 The Committee is also grateful for the wonderful coverage the local media gives the tournament every year, including The State Newspaper, and all of our television stations.  We also appreciate the local courses that have served as challenging and hospitable host courses.  We are very proud to be playing Columbia Country Club this year.